Follow us on:   

  • Facebook Social Icon

  © 2019 by Hagerstown Municipal Band, Inc. - All Rights Reserved   

About the Band

The original Hagerstown Municipal Band from 1915

Entertaining audiences since 1915, the Hagerstown Municipal Band continues to draw crowds today. Sponsorship by the City of Hagerstown is credited with keeping the band on center stage for its fans.

Long considered an integral part of cultural enrichment in the Tri-state area, the band is once again offering its signature series of free summer concerts. Held at the Hagerstown City Park on Sunday evenings, the concerts feature varied programs and soloists.

 

People attending the concerts generally arrive early to find prime parking spots, and then stroll over the park's stone bridge walkways toward the Peter Buys Band Shell. Attendees either seat themselves on benches, or tote lawn chairs to dot the shaded, grassy areas surrounding the stage. A park concessions stand is available to refreshment-seekers just a short walk from the band shell. Facilities are handicapped accessible.

Comprised of musicians from all walks of life and all ages, the band has earned a reputation of showcasing well-trained, dedicated musicians. Talented young musicians from area school music programs often begin with the band during high school and continue during college. Through the presentation of quality programming, the musicians grow in experience and repertoire.

The band maintains a tradition of seeking new talent each season. Involved musicians gain encouragement, valuable to their developing and continuing careers as instructors and performers. Many of the performers are high school and college music instructors. A select number of former U.S. Military band members and professional musicians take advantage of the band's unique venues to continue performing.

The Band’s Staff

 

Conductor

Lynn Lerew - (Bio) (llerew@comcast.net)

 

Section Leaders

 

Timothy Gotwald - Flutes / Piccolos (tgotwald@embarqmail.com)

Gregory Shook - Oboes / Bassoons (trinityvicar@aol.com)

Dawn Raynor - Clarinets (draynor@doingbetterbusiness.com)

Nicole Albright - Saxophones (nalbright17@gmail.com)

John Pursell - Trumpets (johnpursell@msn.com)

Dennis Fraley - French Horns (dennyfraley@hotmail.com)

David Wenerd - Trombones / Euphoniums (david.wenerd@casdonline.org)

William Wilson - Tubas (onomrbil@gmx.com)

Marlin Barnes - Percussion (janenmar@embarqmail.com)

 

HMB Big Band Conductor

 

Joel Guyton - (jcguyton0@gmail.com)

 

Board of Directors

 

Christopher Stockslager - President

Joel Guyton - Vice President

Betty Sue Guyton - Secretary

Dawn Raynor - Treasurer

Karen L. Hart - Board member, Librarian

Timothy Gotwald - Board Member

John Pursell - Board Member

Doris Smith - Historian